The award goes to…

The award presented tonite probably went something like this:

“Before announcing the Best Narrative award, on behalf of the jury, I wish to recognize the feature film, Tre, with a special jury prize. Tre is a sophisticated film; an eerily seductive accusation that’s pinned on each audience member willing to be honest about who they are or have been in relationships. Eric Byler continues his uncompromising gaze with this, his third Rohmer-ic installation and we the jury salute him and his ongoing work.

And finally, and quite unanimously, we would like to offer the Best Narrative Feature award to a first time (feature) filmmaker. In the Owl and the Sparrow, we saw a powerful piece of cinema verite infused with a documentary’s intention — the visuals, performances and subject matter align effortlessly in this elegant and vital tale of a young girl’s struggle to be free of poverty and an oppressive uncle’s grasp. We the jury congratulate Stephen Gauger and his film, the Owl and the Sparrow with the SFIAAFF’s 2007 Best Narrative Feature award.”

Owl and the Sparrow trailer.

Also a special mention goes to actor Ken Leung who was in two films, Shanghai Kiss and Year of the Fish. He kicked butt in two films. If you don’t know who he is, imagine, he’s the Quill guy in Xmen, the one who’s face turns into spikes!